A Writer Wallowing

February 28, 2012 § Leave a comment

Finally!  I thought my characters would grow up and die before I finished the stories in my latest YA novel!  Last period placed tonight…tomorrow it’s revision time and then the search for a new agent.  Anyone with any suggestions, please speak up!

Tonight, I wallow in a self-congratulatory state…don’t mean that to sound pompous or anything…it’s just a really, really wonderful feeling to finally finish a project when you’ve worked on it so looooonnnngggg. Yay, I did it.  Despite the doubts and postponements, the mountains and valleys, I finished another book.  I am delighted with the accomplishment.

People often ask what I do.  When I say I am a writer, the usual comment is “Oh, I want to write a book one day.” I’ve learned to smile and nod and change the subject.  The truth is, not many people really want to actually do the work of writing.  No, what they want is to “have written.”  They want the opportunity to wallow in a self-congratulatory state, (like me, tonight 🙂 ) and know that they have DONE it.  But the actual writing?  Naw, not many people will stick it out.  It’s tough work.  Lonely work.  Sometimes frustrating, maddening, crazy work.  But if you’re truly a writer, you always go back to it.  You can’t get enough of it.

And so I will allow myself a “wallow” tonight because I know that tomorrow I’ll be back at it and on to something new, castigating myself through another journey up that mountain and down (hopefully) into that vale. That’s the way it works.

And I love it.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Writer Wallowing at Southern Sass.

meta

